Sustainability

Building sustainable worth in an environmentally friendly manner.

We are committed to operating our businesses in an environmentally responsible manner.

Empire’s focus on community is further shaped by their commitment to improving environmental performance through reasonable, practical, environmentally responsible business practices that are in the long-term best interests of our shareholders, customers, employees, suppliers and communities.

Sobeys has introduced initiatives like the reusable Green Bag for Life, in-store conservation programs, using LEED standards to guide their stores and distribution centres construction and they continue to look for ways to reduce their environmental impact.

As a wholly-owned subsidiary of Empire, stewardship over stakeholders interests in Sobeys is the responsibility of the Empire Board of Directors. Every Director is involved in assessing the performance and progress of Sobeys’ initiatives, understanding the major risks to Sobeys’ ability to deliver results.

We invite you to learn more about the steps Sobeys are taking to integrate sustainability into all areas their business by viewing Sobeys’ website – Sustainability@Sobeys

Un message À nos clients Sobeys sur COVID-19 En savoir plus

Durabilité

Créer une croissance durable dans le respect de l’environnement

Nous nous engageons à diriger notre entreprise dans le respect de l’environnement.

L’importance accordée à la communauté par Empire est renforcée par son engagement à améliorer sa performance environnementale en mettant en œuvre des pratiques commerciales respectueuses de l’environnement, pratiques et raisonnables afin de soutenir l’intérêt à long terme de nos actionnaires, clients, employés, fournisseurs et communautés.

Ainsi, Sobeys a lancé des initiatives comme le sac vert réutilisable, des programmes de conservation en magasin et le respect des normes LEED pour guider la construction de ses magasins et centres de distribution, et continue de rechercher des moyens de réduire son incidence sur l’environnement.

La gestion des intérêts des actionnaires de Sobeys, filiale en propriété exclusive d’Empire, relève de la responsabilité du conseil d’administration d’Empire. Ainsi, chaque directeur participe à l’évaluation de la performance et du progrès des initiatives de Sobeys en tenant compte des principaux risques relativement à la capacité de Sobeys à atteindre les résultats attendus.

Nous vous invitons à consulter le site Web de Sobeys pour en savoir plus sur les mesures mises en place pour intégrer la durabilité à l’ensemble des activités de l’entreprise – Sustainability@Sobeys.