Credit Rating

Empire Company Limited. is not currently rated by any credit rating agency. Empire’s subsidiary, Sobeys Inc., is rated by both DBRS Ltd. and Standard & Poor’s (S&P).

Sobeys’ Credit Ratings

DBRS Ltd. S&P
Medium Term Notes BB low
(Stable Trend)
BB+
(Positive Outlook)
Sinking Fund Debentures BB low
(Stable Trend)
BB+
(Positive Outlook)
Notes BB low
(Stable Trend)
BB+
(Positive Outlook)

The credit ratings accorded to the debt by the rating agencies are not a recommendation to purchase, hold or sell the debt, inasmuch as such ratings do not comment as to market price or suitability for a particular investor. Credit ratings are intended to provide investors with an independent measure of the credit quality of an issue of securities. The Company provides the rating agencies with confidential, in- depth information in support of the rating process.

DBRS’ credit ratings for long-term debt instruments range from AAA to D. The DBRS BBB (low) rating is investment grade. The capacity for the payment of a company’s financial obligations is considered acceptable and may be vulnerable to future events. Ratings designations may be modified by the addition of a high or low to indicate relative standing within the BB category. Each DBRS rating category is appended with one of three rating trends: “positive”, “stable” or “negative”. The rating trend helps to give an investor an understanding of DBRS’ opinion regarding the outlook for the rating in question. However, the investor must not assume that a positive or negative trend necessarily indicates that a rating change is imminent.

S&P’s credit ratings for long-term debt instruments range from AAA to D. S&P’s BB+ rating is non-investment grade. Ongoing uncertainties or exposure to adverse business, financial, or economic conditions could lead to a company’s inadequate capacity to meet financial commitments on its obligations. Ratings designations may be modified by the addition of a plus or minus to indicate relative standing within the BB category. A plus or minus designation indicates the debt’s relative standing within the BBB category. S&P’s rating outlook assesses the potential direction that a rating may be headed over the immediate to longer-term, with outlooks falling into one of five categories: “positive”, “negative”, “stable”, “developing” or “not meaningful”. A positive outlook indicates steady credit metrics are expected, and the rating may be raised in the intermediate to long term.

The credit ratings on the MTNs, Notes and Sinking Fund Debentures may not reflect the potential impact of all risks related to structure and other factors on the value of the MTNs, Notes and Sinking Fund Debentures. In addition, real or anticipated changes in the Company’s credit ratings will generally affect the market value of the debt. The foregoing ratings may be revised or withdrawn at any time by the rating agency if, in its judgment, circumstances warrant.

The Company has made, or will make, payments in the ordinary course to the rating agencies in connection with the assignment of ratings on the Company or its subsidiaries and their securities. In addition, the Company has made customary payments in respect of certain subscription services provided to the Company by the rating agencies during the last two years.

Notations du crédit

Empire Company Limited n’est cotée par aucune agence de cotation. La filiale d’Empire, Sobeys Inc., est cotée par DBRS Ltd. et par Standard & Poor’s (S&P).

Les notations des titres de Sobeys 

DBRS Ltd. S&P
Billets à moyen terme (BMT) BBB faible
(tendance stable)
BBB-
(perspective stable)
Billets BBB faible
(tendance stable)
BBB-
(perspective stable)

Les notations du crédit attribuées à un titre de créance par les agences de notation ne constituent pas une recommandation d’achat, de détention ou de vente du titre de créance, puisque ces notations ne sont pas assorties de commentaires quant au cours ou au caractère approprié du titre pour un investisseur donné. Les notations du crédit visent à fournir aux investisseurs une évaluation indépendante de la qualité du crédit d’une émission de titres. La Société communique aux agences de notation des renseignements confidentiels et approfondis à l’appui du processus de notation.

Les notations du crédit attribuées par DBRS aux titres de créance à long terme varient de AAA à D. La note BBB (faible) attribuée par DBRS est une note qui s’applique à un crédit de bonne qualité. La capacité de paiement des obligations financières de la société est jugée acceptable, quoique vulnérable aux événements futurs. Les notations peuvent être modulées par l’ajout de la mention « élevé » ou « faible » afin d’indiquer la position relative à l’intérieur de la catégorie BBB. Chaque catégorie de notation de DBRS comporte une des trois tendances suivantes de la notation : « positive », « stable » ou « négative ». La tendance de la notation aide l’investisseur à comprendre l’opinion de DBRS quant aux perspectives de la note en cause. Toutefois, l’investisseur ne doit pas supposer qu’une tendance positive ou négative indique nécessairement l’imminence d’un changement de notation. Une tendance stable signifie que les mesures du crédit sont censées être durables à court ou à long terme.

Les notations attribuées par S&P aux titres de créance à long terme varient de AAA à D. La notation BBB- attribuée par S&P fait partie d’une catégorie de bonne qualité. Une obligation notée BBB présente des paramètres de protection adéquats. Toutefois, des conditions économiques défavorables ou des circonstances changeantes sont plus susceptibles d’affaiblir la capacité du débiteur à honorer ses engagements financiers au titre de l’obligation. Une désignation « plus » ou « moins » indique la position relative du titre de créance à l’intérieur de la catégorie BBB. Les perspectives d’une notation attribuée par S&P évaluent l’orientation possible d’une notation à moyen terme, qui est généralement de deux ans pour une cote de crédit de bonne qualité et généralement d’un an pour la cote spéculative, les perspectives se classant dans l’une des quatre catégories suivantes : positive, négative, stable ou sous surveillance. Une perspective stable signifie que les indicateurs de crédit devraient demeurer stables et qu’une cote ne devrait pas changer à moyen terme.

Les notations de crédit attribuées aux BMT et aux billets pourraient ne pas refléter l’incidence possible de tous les risques liés à la structure des BMT et des billets, ainsi que d’autres facteurs relatifs à leur valeur. En outre, les changements réels ou prévus des notations du crédit de Sobeys influeront généralement sur la valeur marchande des titres de créance. L’agence de notation peut réviser ou retirer en tout temps les notations qui précèdent si elle juge que les circonstances le justifient.

Sobeys a effectué, ou effectuera, des paiements dans le cours normal de ses activités aux agences de notation du crédit relativement à l’attribution de notations visant Sobeys et ses titres. En outre, la Société a effectué des paiements habituels au titre de certains services aux abonnés fournis à la Société par les agences de notation du crédit.